Matthew Jackson : English

Matthew Jackson
Subject : English
Native : English
Italy
( / ) Lessons
   Unrated    
( / ) Reviews
8+ days
Offline
45 Min : $17.58 / £14.12 / €16.72
Trial: FREE

Hello, my name is Matthew Jackson and I'm 28 years old and currently living in Italy. I am a native English speaker and teach English. I have taught online with Verbalplanet.com since May 2016. I am currently offering a free initial trial lesson for new students.

Detailed Profile in English

About me

HI my name is Matt. I am a TEFL teacher in Brindisi Italy with a 120 hour TEFL course with Distinction level.

I am 28 years old bubbly and friendly. I graduated from Leeds university with a degree in Geography and management. I then travelled around Australia and worked in many different jobs. It was here where I got the passion for culture and a drive to teach languages. I love to travel and learn about different people and most of all I love to talk. I have a full time job here most of the year so I am looking mostly for summer students. Maybe your school closes in Summer or your teacher goes on holiday. I am the guy for you. There is a break in my contract all August and September so I am looking to fill those months with as much as I can online. In my regular contract I normally work evenings so weekends and mornings are also possible out of summer. Also if I have enough requests on here there is of course the possibility I could change to full time online in the future so don't hesitate to contact me if you are interested.

Qualifications & Experience

I have a Bachelor of science degree from the University of Leeds and the TEFL certificate Distinction.

I worked in a tough TEFL job in the Czech republic and Slovakia for 18 months teaching very busy schedules. I then moved to a less demanding but still busy job in Italy where I have been for 6 months. I have experience teaching all methods all ages Elementary, middle high school and adults from complete novice up to very advanced students

I have worked on many summer camps and prepared students for exams also.

Teaching Approach

I have a fun and casual approach to teaching. I like to talk and listen a lot. I am also good with grammar and can be serious if you prefer to work from books and do lots of exercises. I like to prepare my own materials but also use books if you like. It is really up to you. I am very flexible. In our first lesson we can discuss how you would most like to learn. For those who are more casual learners just wanting to keep up their knowledge we can just talk or discuss an article or any problems you have been having or if you are at a lower level or you need serious exam preparation we can start on or continue a book. We can test out different methods and see what you like the best.

I focus most on speaking, pronunciation and sounding natural. I am less focused on writing and perfect grammar. In my opinion it is more important to be able to have a conversation or ask for things in real situations rather than just be able to write perfect sentences but not have the confidence to speak.


     

Tutor not yet rated.

Complete Student Feedback

Not sure it's for you?