Sarah Charles : English

Sarah Charles
Subject : English
Native : English
United Kingdom
( / ) Lessons
   Unrated    
( / ) Reviews
8+ days
Offline
45 Min : $17.95 / £13.99 / €16.48
Trial: FREE

Hello, my name is Sarah Charles and I'm 44 years old and currently living in United Kingdom. I am a native English speaker and teach English. I have taught online with Verbalplanet.com since October 2016. I am currently offering a free initial trial lesson for new students.

Detailed Profile in English

About me

Hello! My name is Sarah and I am from the United Kingdom. I have been teaching English to foreign learners since 2011. I have taught in schools in Italy, France, Greece and the UK, and do feel lucky in my chosen career for it has taken me far and wide. I can speak French to an intermediate level, have a basic understanding of Italian and I am currently studying to speak Greek. Therefore I have a certain knowledge of what it's like to be a language student!

The best thing about teaching any student is watching them develop and improve their English language skills and to see the enjoyment they gain from this. I have been fortunate over the years to have taught so many from different backgrounds and countries and I am happy to say that I can call many of them friends.

I am 43 years old and split my time these days between the UK and a small Greek island called Ios. When I'm not teaching I love reading, learning Greek, going swimming and walking and dabbling a little in water sports such as stand up paddle boarding and sailing.

I believe that the opportunities of online learning are boundless and so much can be gained from one to one lessons with a native speaker at times to suit both teacher and student, and I look forward to what it may bring.

Qualifications & Experience

I have a Cambridge Certificate in English Language Teaching to Adults, (CELTA) which I gained from International House, Vancouver, Canada in July 2011.

Since then I have been gainfully employed at schools in Sicily, Paris, Portsmouth UK, and Greece. My experience has been quite varied having taught all levels and all ages from six to sixty!

I have taught classes of individuals to large groups of up to thirty students in General English, Business English, Medical English and exam preparation such as IELTS, Cambridge and Michigan, and have gained much success with this I am pleased and proud to say.

Before teaching I worked for many years as a senior level secretary in the corporate world and although I never thought that experience would serve me well in future, I have been able to draw on it when teaching professionals.

Teaching Approach

I believe that lessons should be interesting and fun. We learn better if we are having a good time, after all. I will listen to what my student's objectives are and cater for that taking into account level and ability.

Do you want to improve your general English for simply better conversation with your English speaking friends? Or do you wish to improve to help you with your professional development? Do you want to study for an IELTS in order to gain entry to a UK university or emigrate to an English speaking country?

Whatever you are aiming to do, I will personalise your lessons to suit you, either with the use of authentic materials such as media articles, radio etc or graded materials if the student has a specific course to work towards. I will endeavour to include in any lesson, practice of the four key skills, Reading, Writing, Speaking and Listening, and develop the grammar and language points that a text will introduce. This will give a student the opportunity to practice new vocabulary and grammar in a well rounded way, encouraging fluency and confidence.

My aim is to help you succeed in your goals. Nothing gives me greater pleasure than watching a student discover the enjoyment of learning a new language and a new world open up to them.


     

Tutor not yet rated.

Complete Student Feedback

Not sure it's for you?