Joshua Cropsey : English

Joshua Cropsey
Subject : English
Native : English
United States
(1) Lessons
   Unrated    
( / ) Reviews
8+ days
Offline
45 Min : $20.04 / £15.90 / €18.40
Trial: FREE

Hello, my name is Joshua Cropsey and I'm 40 years old and currently living in United States. I am a native English speaker and teach English. I have taught online with Verbalplanet.com since January 2017. I can speak the following languages fluently: English, Arabic. I am currently offering a free initial trial lesson for new students.

Detailed Profile in English

About me

Teaching English is a passion for me! In my opinion, learning another language is a window into a new world. If we can communicate with each other, we can share ideas, culture, and hope. You truly become an ambassador for your language and culture to another culture. Your life will be enriched deeply when you learn another language. Lifetime friendships will be formed!

A large part of my passion for language and other cultures comes from my upbringing. My parents moved to Togo, West Africa as medical missionaries in 1985. I spent many afternoons playing soccer with my Togolese friends. During this time, I learned what it means to be an outsider in another culture. I also cherish my understanding of French and West African culture.

Jumping forward to 2005, I moved to Amman, Jordan with my new wife. We quickly fell in love with the Middle Eastern culture and the Arabic language! During our stay in Jordan (2005-2009), I experienced learning Arabic as a second language using a very communicative, hands-on approach to language learning called the Growing Participator Approach (See more on the GPA below). Also, many of my Jordanian friends expressed an interest in learning English. So, I started an English Club in my home. Within a matter of weeks, we had twenty-five plus students learning English! By 2007, I completed my TESOL certification and registered an English company with the ministry of social development. Our center opened in a former Palestinian refugee camp with seventy-five new students. Some of my greatest memories of Jordan was from teaching English to these beautiful people.

In 2010, my family returned to the United States and I began to teach English as a second language in Indianapolis. During this time (2010-Present, I completed a Masters in TESOL from Grand Canyon University and then transitioned to Academic director in 2016.

If you are looking for a fun and sympathetic English teacher, then I'm the right guy for you!

Qualifications & Experience

Qualifications:

Masters in TESOL (2015)

60 hour TESOL Certification (2007)

Teacher Training Certification for GPA (2006)

Masters of Divinity (2001)

Bachler of Arts in Bible and History (1995-1999)

Experience:

Academic Director at an English Center for adults (2015-Present)

Senior English instructor (2011-2015)

Private English tutor (2010-2015)

*Business English for doctors, nurses, and engineers

*Test preparation for IELTS/TOEFL

Summer English Instructor for IUPUI (Indiana University- Purdue University Indianapolis) exchange program (2014)

University acceptance councilor (2015-Present)

Teaching Approach

As mentioned above, I like a communicative and interactive style of learning a language. I believe that learning a language requires the student to experience the language in as many formats as possible. Also, it is important to find out what the student's goals are for learning English. I then create lessons to meet those goals. If I’m focusing on what the student’s needs are, then I’m certain the student will be highly motivated to learn.


     

Tutor not yet rated.

Complete Student Feedback

Not sure it's for you?