Anne Raftery : English

Anne Raftery
Subject : English
Native : English
United States
( / ) Lessons
   Unrated    
( / ) Reviews
8+ days
Offline
45 Min : $20.08 / £15.78 / €17.97
Trial: 80% OFF

Hello, my name is Anne Raftery and I'm 51 years old and currently living in United States. I am a native English speaker and teach English. I have taught online with Verbalplanet.com since January 2017. I can speak the following languages fluently: English, French. I am currently offering a discounted initial trial lesson at 80% of my normal lesson price for new students.

Detailed Profile in English

About me

My goal is to find your best way to learn and to use it to help you attain your goals. I employ creativity, encouragement, a positive attitude, and fun! I have worked with students of all ages and backgrounds. Learning is as unique as the individual, therefore, you are the center of your learning experience!

I am from the Greater Bay Area in California, USA. I have worked as a teacher in many capacities, including as a public school teacher, language tutor, and swim instructor. My experience spans 20 years. On a personal note, I love nature, the arts, culture, and travel. I also have a passion for learning and so have a depth of subject matter knowledge in numerous fields such as history, medicine, business, psychology, geography, the natural world, culture, and so forth.

With my expertise, I will support you to obtain success in your goals!

Qualifications & Experience

Credentials:

TEFL 120 Hour Certification

TEFL Grammar Certification

Multiple Subject Teaching Credential: UC Davis

Certifications to teach High School Subject Matter: English, French, Mathematics, Science: California Commission on Teacher Credentialing

Bachelors Degree in French Language: UC Davis.

Experience:

Public School Teacher in San Francisco Bay Area, grades Kindergarten through 12: all subject matter.

Teacher of English as a Second Language: (1) Private Tutoring to adults and children/ youth (2) California Public Schools grades K-12

French Language Tutor: adults and youth.

Teaching Approach

The most important part of teaching is the student. I therefore work with you to find your best way to learn. You have a lot to teach me about your learning styles, interests, and goals! One of my talents is to understand my students ways of thinking and achieving. I also have a great understanding of individual and cultural differences. I then support you by offering activities and instruction in the way that works best for you.

I will encourage you to have confidence in your own ability to learn, to find solutions to move forward, and to achieve success. Consistency and flexibility are equally important. So, I maintain a consistent focus and means to progress while at the same time changing the teaching approach when necessary for student success. Finally, learning should be fun and interesting! I create lessons based on your interests and include activities that are challenging, attainable, and enjoyable.

Methods used: direct instruction, games, activities in your real life, videos, written work, conversation, art, reading, writing, research activities, and more.


     

Tutor not yet rated.

Complete Student Feedback

Not sure it's for you?