Renate Hatt : English

Renate Hatt
Subject : English
Native : German
United States
( / ) Lessons
( / ) Total Reviews
5 days ago
45 Min : $25.25 / £19.20 / €22.80
Hello, my name is Renate Hatt and I'm 57 years old and currently living in United States. I am a native German speaker and teach English, German. I have been an online English teacher with since February 2015. I can speak the following languages fluently: German, English.

Detailed Profile in English

About me

Hi! Thank you for your interest in learning another language!

Being able to communicate in a foreign language opens many doors in the job market and in new relationships. I can speak from experience here since I relocated to the U.S. 15 years ago. I was born and raised in Germany with my first language being German. In the meantime, my English has progressed to the point where most people can't even tell that I did not grow up here.

I lived in California for 14.5 years and moved to the Dallas, TX area last summer. It would be my privilege to help you learn a new language!

P.S.: I am not able to take on any new students until this Fall. Please be sure to contact me before booking a session.

Qualifications & Experience

My educational background is that I have a Master's degree in Education from Wheaton College, IL. I have over ten years of teaching experience.

It has always been a lot of fun for me to teach languages. In Germany, I taught English. In the US, I teach beginning German and tutor German students through the Dallas Goethe Center as well as several other tutoring companies. This past schoolyear, I was also a Teaching Assistant in a program for English as a Second Language at First Baptist Church Richardson, TX.

Teaching Approach

One-on-one teaching lends itself to the conversational teaching style.

Encouragement, laughter, and challenge are important factors in a great learning environment. I try to help my students learn some basic phrases right from the beginning so that they can start communicating in their new language.

Detailed Profile in German

About me

Hallo! Ich bin in Deutschland geboren und aufgewachsen, wohne aber seit 15 Jahren in den USA. Die meisten Amerikaner merken gar nicht mehr, dass Englisch meine Zweitsprache ist. Es macht mir Spass, anderen beim Erlernen einer Fremdsprache zu helfen. Wer Fremdsprachen kann, hat viel mehr Möglichkeiten, im Beruf, auf Reisen und auch privat mit anderen zu kommunizieren.

Qualifications & Experience

Ich habe einen Master of Arts in Pädagogik von einer amerikanischen Universität. In Deutschland habe ich 10 Jahre lang Erwachsene unterrichtet, u.a. auch in Englisch. Seit Herbst 2014 arbeite ich in einem Englischprogramm für Ausländer in der Nähe von Dallas mit. Ausserdem gebe ich Privatstunden in Deutsch.

Teaching Approach

Mein Schwerpunkt liegt darauf, meinen Schülern möglichst schnell Erfolgserlebnisse zu ermöglichen. Sie sollen schon nach ein bis zwei Unterrichtsstunden in der Lage sein, andere zu begrüßen und sich vorzustellen. Sobald möglich, findet auch der Unterricht in der Zielsprache statt. Grundsätzlich soll mein Unterricht herausfordernd und ermutigend sein.


Tutor not yet rated.

Complete Student Feedback

Get Started Today.
Bring Learning a Language to Life.

Native teachers

Great pricing

Ultimate flexibility