bing

Bruno Toscano : English

Bruno Toscano
Subject : English Native
Spain
( / ) Lessons
   Unrated    
( / ) Reviews
8+ days
Offline
45 Min : $22.26 / £17.35 / €19.48
Trial: FREE
Hello, my name is Bruno Toscano and I'm 33 years old and currently living in Spain. I am a native English speaker and teach English, Spanish. I have been an online English teacher with Verbalplanet.com since January 2018. I can speak the following languages fluently: English, Spanish. I am currently offering a free initial trial lesson for new students.

Detailed Profile in English

About me

My name is Bruno Toscano. I was born in Queens, NY, USA. I am 32 years old. I graduated from St. Francis College in Brooklyn, NY, majoring in Philosophy. I won the Francis X. Slade Award for Excellence in Philosophy. After I graduated, I received a job offer to teach English as a second language in Loja, Ecuador. As the financial crisis had just begun in the USA, I took the offer, and flew to Ecuador! I worked and lived there for 7 years, where I learned Spanish and gained so many valuable experiences in my life. In September of 2016, I was accepted as a doctoral candidate at the University of Seville, Spain, and have been living here since November of 2016.

Qualifications & Experience

I have over 7 years of experience as an ESL teacher. I first started working for the private academy 'The Canadian House Center' in Loja, Ecuador, in February of 2009. Here I taught students of all ages and all levels of English. Branching out after 2 years, I began a part-time job at the Universidad Tecnica Particular de Loja as an English professor. Here I taught advanced English to students of the Tourism and Hospitality major. I also worked as a translator for the 'Naturaleza y Cultura Internacional" journal, which published scientific and environmental articles on the southern regions of Ecuador and the northern regions of Peru, amongst others. These articles were for the greater part dedicated to research and conservation in the Amazonic regions of these countries. When I moved to Spain towards the end of 2016, I also began teaching private lessons to students ranging from elementary school students to university and business students. I have also taught classes online.

I have a Master's degree from the European Graduate School in Switzerland in Philosophy and am currently doing my doctoral research in Philosophy for the University of Seville.

Teaching Approach

I approach teaching in a rather simplistic way. As I feel philosophy has helped me along the way, I feel that teaching is, above all, a conversation, a dialogue, between the student and the tutor. I try and take into consideration the singular needs of every student, and then apply these needs in specific ways to the specific students. Each student has different ways of understanding and learning different subjects. I try and make the classes as comfortable as possible, mixing grammar, reading, writing, listening and speaking in fun and sometimes unconventional ways. My goal is to keep the student interested in the lesson and to make sure that they take something away from every class, be it a grammar rule or some phrasal verbs. I always try to diversify my classes in ways that the student would appreciate.

     

Tutor not yet rated.

Complete Student Feedback

Get Started Today.
Bring Learning a Language to Life.

Native teachers

Great pricing

Ultimate flexibility