Alejandra Santos : English

Alejandra Santos
Subject : English
Native : English
United States
( / ) Lessons
   Unrated    
( / ) Reviews
8+ days
Offline
45 Min : $25.11 / £19.65 / €23.47

Hello, my name is Alejandra Santos and I'm 29 years old and currently living in United States. I am a native English speaker and teach English. I have taught online with Verbalplanet.com since July 2016. I can speak the following languages fluently: English, Spanish.

Detailed Profile in English

About me

My name is Alejandra Santos and I'm an international English teacher. I have been teaching since 2012 and specialize in creating an enjoyable classroom environment.

One of my favorite authors, Mr. Nelson Mandela is quoted saying, “Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world.” If my experiences and teaching can give you the resources you need to make your goals for the future a reality and the desire or inspiration to go after something you've truly been wanting, while promoting language learning to benefit society as a whole, all the better.

My vision is to be internationally recognized, highly respected and a benchmark for quality in English language learning.

Qualifications & Experience

Soon after completing my teaching certification in Madrid at International House, I joined a summer English camp as a teacher in New York City. I was responsible for preparing four lesson plans daily and instructing groups of fifteen Italian teenagers in English as a second language courses. I monitored students’ performances, prepared students’ evaluations and advised students on their progress at the end of their term.

Later that year, I was offered a contract to teach English in Vietnam. Over that year, I instructed students in five distinct English programs within the school: Jumpstarts (4-6 year olds), Super Juniors (6.5-11 year olds), Smart Teens (12-16 year olds), Global English (adult learners) and Business English (adult learners at a local corporation). I gained 1,200+ hours of teaching experience and 2400+ hours of lesson planning, while preparing resources and materials for each lesson. In addition, I administered classroom examinations including PET, KET, FCE, Cambridge Movers, Starters, and Flyers. Similarly, I conducted level testing for all prospective students for aforementioned English programs within the school.

Currently, I am living in Florianopolis, Brazil. A city situated on an island in the south of Brazil. I teach at two different language schools here, one of which is for adults and another that is geared towards children and teenagers.

I enjoy teaching TOEFL preparation classes, conversation classes, Business and Travel English classes amongst many others!

Teaching Approach

My teaching style is interactive and I like to make sure the students are engaged in the lesson. If you aren't enjoying yourself, I think it's impossible to learn. You have to be emotionally invested! If you have a sense of humor, a positive attitude and a strong work ethic, you will be successful in my classroom.


     

Tutor not yet rated.

Complete Student Feedback

Not sure it's for you?