Dina O'Connor : English

Dina O'Connor
Subject : English
Native : Russian
United States
( / ) Lessons
   Unrated    
( / ) Reviews
8+ days
Offline
45 Min : $20.08 / £15.77 / €17.95
Trial: FREE

Hello, my name is Dina O'Connor and I'm 28 years old and currently living in United States. I am a native Russian speaker and teach English. I have taught online with Verbalplanet.com since September 2016. I can speak the following languages fluently: Russian, English. I am currently offering a free initial trial lesson for new students.

Detailed Profile in English

About me

I am a huge language learner and educator. I studied English Linguistics and Translation at a Russian University, where I fell in love with languages and different cultures. I've been in the United States for almost eight years now. I love teaching, ice skating and everything tech related. I have experience in learning such languages as English, German, French, Latin, and Chinese. I am still practicing my Chinese on a daily basis, I really enjoy the language and the culture. I love going to international meetups and meet new people from around the world.

Qualifications & Experience

I studied English Linguistics and Translation at University. I worked as an English tutor for kids throughout my University years. For past two and a half years, I've been working for a company that teaches English as a Second Language remotely. I have experience teaching students from all over the world of different levels and backgrounds. I have experience in teaching business English, IT English, English for travelling. I have also helped students prepare for TOEFL.

Teaching Approach

My approach to teaching is very personalized. Throughout my experience, I realized that everyone is different and we all have different learning abilities. When I create a learning plan for my students I take into consideration their learning goals, learning ability and experience. My student's interests are very important to me because it helps me to build the most interesting lessons. To find the best way for a student to learn the language I like to learn about their successful and unsuccessful learning experiences. Within first couple lessons, I identify the student's strongest and weakest points and prepare the lessons accordingly.

I've noticed that speaking is the least practiced part of the language learning process, so in my lessons, I strongly encourage students to speak, so they can get comfortable with the process as soon as possible. I build grammar and vocabulary exercises based on the student's experiences. I believe it helps them to understand the material better if they associate it with the situations from their personal life experiences.


     

Tutor not yet rated.

Complete Student Feedback

Not sure it's for you?