Micol Candiani : Italian

Micol Candiani
Subject : Italian
Native : Italian
Italy
( / ) Lessons
   Unrated    
( / ) Reviews
8+ days
Offline
45 Min : $20.90 / £16.76 / €19.69
Trial: FREE

Hello, my name is Micol Candiani and I'm 28 years old and currently living in Italy. I am a native Italian speaker and teach English, Italian. I have taught online with Verbalplanet.com since October 2016. I can speak the following languages fluently: Italian, English, French, Russian, Spanish. I am currently offering a free initial trial lesson for new students.

Detailed Profile in English

About me

Hello everybody! I'm Micol and I work as a Modern Foreign Languages teacher here in Italy.

I studied foreign languages first in Milan at Università degli Studi, where I got my Bachelor degree in Linguistic and Cultural Mediation (particularly focusing on Russian and Arabic culture and on Teaching Italian to foreigners) back in 2010. In 2011 I moved to the United Kingdom where I completed my Master degree in Culture and Difference at Durham University (particularly focusing on Spanish/South American and Italian cultural studies). Both in Italy and in the UK I worked as a teacher with students of different age and cultural background. In Italy during my university years I had already started to follow my mother's path as she works as an English teacher for young children and the elderly. In Durham I got involved into the project Routes into Languages that enabled me to teach my native language to British students in primary and secondary schools of the North-East of England. I also worked as an English teacher and translator (Italian/English) in Oxford, Brighton and Wickham, in the United Kingdom in 2014. Back in Italy I mainly worked as a teacher of English, French, Russian and Italian for foreigners in different social context and institutions (private schools, cultural centers, online one-to-one tuition, nursery schools, factories, refugees centers, ...). In March 2016 I took the DITALS national exam to teach Italian to foreigners which helped me to broaden my knowledge of teaching methods and strategies. I am totally in love with languages and I like working with people from other countries who are keen on learning my own. I am a very enthusiastic and cheerful person and I see languages as a means of communication which links the world together and makes it richer and more beautiful.

Qualifications & Experience

Bachelor degree in Linguistic and Cultural Mediation at the University of Milan (Italy)

Master degree in Culture and Difference at Durham University (United Kingdom)

Certification DITALS 1 (Teaching Italian to Foreigners) at the University for Foreigners of Siena (Italy)

Experience as a teacher both in Italy and in the United Kingdom. I have thought in cultural centers, private language schools, public schools, refugees centers,

Teaching Approach

During my lessons I use the linguistic-communicative approach that mixes together the grammar basics of the language particularly focusing on the actual uses of it. My students are encouraged to experiment and get over the fear of speaking even very few and simple phrases. Languages don't have to scare us, they must be considered as an advantage even at a very initial level of proficiency. I support my lessons with videos, film scenes, meaningful songs, poems and I encourage role taking exercises, highlighting not only useful expressions of everyday communication but also cultural aspects and interesting stories of the past or the modern times.


     

Tutor not yet rated.

Complete Student Feedback

Not sure it's for you?