Sarah Chia : English

Sarah Chia
Subject : English
Native : English
United States
( / ) Lessons
   Unrated    
( / ) Reviews
8+ days
Offline
45 Min : $20.15 / £15.63 / €18.52
Trial: 50% OFF

Hello, my name is Sarah Chia and I'm 38 years old and currently living in United States. I am a native English speaker and teach English. I have taught online with Verbalplanet.com since October 2016. I am currently offering a discounted initial trial lesson at 50% of my normal lesson price for new students.

Detailed Profile in English

About me

When I was in college, I studied English with an emphasis on Linguistics and Writing. I graduated with my bachelor's degree in 2002 and went on to teach college, high school, and middle school students about grammar and essay writing. In 2014, I completed my TEFL certification from Bridge TEFL. I have also tutored English learners one-on-one and have spent many hours volunteering as a host for international students who are studying in America.

In addition to all of this, I have personally tackled the task of becoming conversational in Spanish (something I am still working to improve). I began learning Spanish just two years ago and used an online tutor. It was the best decision that I made for my language learning, so I am very passionate about offering my services to the Verbalplanet community.

I hope you will book a trial session so that we can talk about the best plan for your language learning!

Qualifications & Experience

B.A. in English with writing and linguistics focus - Purdue University 2002, 3.9 GPA

TEFL 120-hour certification with endorsements in Business and Grammar - Bridge TEFL 2014, A average

Over 5 years experience as a classroom teacher for academic and creative writing for students ranging from elementary to college.

2+ years experience as a one-on-one tutor for English language learners.

Teaching Approach

I take an individualized approach to teaching English, which includes conversation, grammar, and vocabulary. I use lots of online resources including articles, videos, and games. But I don't rely on technology to do my teaching for me. I patiently listen for gaps in a student's usage or understanding and tailor lessons on topics specially for that student. I find that variety in tools and situations is what really helps us grasp a new language and feel comfortable, so I use a variety of exercises and ways of explaining concepts. Most importantly, I customize lessons to what my student is interested in. This way, learning becomes a joy, rather than a chore.


     

Tutor not yet rated.

Complete Student Feedback

Not sure it's for you?