Lisa Loki : English
Lisa Loki
English Native
Sessions: 0
 Not Rated
£21.74 / €24.98 / $28.17
Trial: 50% Off
Loyalty Discounts
  Hello, my name is Lisa Loki and I'm 39 years old and currently living in the United States. I am a native English speaker and teach English. I have been an online English teacher with Verbalplanet since June 2016. I can speak the following languages fluently: English, Portuguese - Brazil, Spanish. I am currently offering a discounted initial trial lesson at 50% of my normal lesson price for new students. 
Meet me on
About me - English

I am a native English speaker from the United States and grew up in New England, in a tiny coastal town in Maine. My family lived a simple life, tucked into the northern woods and it was easy to enjoy our relaxed lifestyle. We didn't have much in the way of money, but I learned to appreciate quality things like good conversation, real friendship and the natural world around me.

It was this love for people and for authentic experiences that moved me to travel as a teenager. As I visited places like the Dominican Republic, Chile, Argentina, and Nicaragua, I was motivated to learn Spanish to further connect with the people and culture that I saw. I saw how a new language could open doors to relationships and worlds that I had never seen before. To this day, many of my best friendships are with Spanish-speakers. My husband and his family also speak Portuguese and I worked hard to communicate fluently with them, and the Brazilian Portuguese community that I was introduced to, in their own language.

Early on, I realized that I had a love and an aptitude for learning languages. I also came to deeply care for the people who spoke those languages and wanted to help them, just as so many of them had helped me. I realized that English gave me access to a world that many of them couldn't comfortably join. I began to teach English classes to immigrants in my local community. I was so thrilled to see how English helped them finish their studies, get a better job, and adapt more easily into their new home.

Now, with the internet so readily available, I am excited to meet English learners from all over the world and help them on their journey!

Qualifications & Experience

I graduated Belfast Area High School in 1999 and received my degree from the University of Maine in 2002. I focused on language studies (including French, Russian, Latin and Spanish) and advanced computer skills. I am also an active participant of the Theocratic Ministry School, an ongoing weekly training school designed to improve teaching and speaking skills and includes regularly writing and presenting speeches while working to improve in specific areas such as effective use of questions, correct pronunciation, accurate reading, choice of words and poise. I also graduated from Pioneer Service School in 2012, an intensive 2 week training course designed to refine the art of teaching.

I now have over 13 years of teaching private and group classes in English, Spanish and Portuguese. Students’ ages range from 6-adult and they vary in background, education and interests and am currently a freelance teacher of personalized conversational English as a Second Language. I have experience teaching online and in person.

TEFL/TESOL certification.

Teaching Approach

I use a variety of resources to help my students, such as relevant news articles, demonstrations, worksheets, illustrations, drills, etc. I prepare each lesson with each student in mind and tailor the information to them. My goal is to help you reach your personal goals on your journey to learn English. I'll help you correct your grammar and improve your pronunciation and accent as you perfect your conversational English skills. My pleasant demeanor and patient attitude will set you at ease and help you relax as you learn. I look forward to meeting you!

Back to the top
Complete Student Feedback

Get Started Today
Bring Learning a Language to Life

Native teachers

Great pricing

Ultimate flexibility

© 2020