bing

Josse McMahon : English

Josse McMahon
Subject : English Native
United Kingdom
( / ) Lessons
   Unrated    
( / ) Reviews
8+ days
Offline
45 Min : $17.57 / £13.99 / €15.57
Trial: FREE
Hello, my name is Josse McMahon and I'm 32 years old and currently living in United Kingdom. I am a native English speaker and teach English. I have been an online English teacher with Verbalplanet.com since November 2018. I am currently offering a free initial trial lesson for new students.

Detailed Profile in English

About me

Hi! My name is Josse and I am a friendly, patient and supportive English teacher. I love helping people to learn and I can't wait to help you with your English!

I live in the North of England with my young family. I have many hobbies and interests and I am always talking about them. My primary interest is the natural world: going outside to enjoy the beauty of nature. I often go camping with my family so we can enjoy the outdoors together.

I really like music and have been in a band since I was a teenager. I don't write music as often as I used to, but I still love to discuss music with like-minded people. I am an avid football fan, a supporter of Newcastle United and of my local team: Worksop Town. I could happily talk about football all day!

Qualifications & Experience

I hold an advanced TEFL Teaching Certificate.

My appreciation for the English Language began during childhood. I obtained grade A in both English Language and Literature at GCSE level before studying English language at "A" level and achieving grade A.

Before becoming a teacher, I worked for 8 years in the criminal justice system, gaining a Cert HE and NVQ 4 in Youth Justice. This role honed my English language skills as I was required to present reports and sentencing proposals in criminal courts to judges and magistrates. An extremely high standard of written and spoken language was required for this role.

Because I was recognised as a good teacher and clear communicator, I was selected to be involved in the recruitment and training of new volunteers and staff. I have many years' experience of public speaking. I regularly address large audiences and have done so at assemblies of 800+ attendees.

After 8 years in the justice system, I chose to make a career change and began teaching in a school in Sheffield, England, with a very high immigrant population. Over 90% of our students had English as a second or other language. I became qualified in supporting learning in schools and gained 3 years' experience of teaching ESOL students.

In Summer 2018 I gained my TEFL certificate and began teaching English to adults and children online.

Teaching Approach

I am a friendly, patient and supportive teacher. I believe that students learn best when they feel relaxed and confident, so I work hard to create a good atmosphere for learning. I work in a structured way. You will be offered an assessment which identifies your strengths and weaknesses. The course can then be tailored to meet your specific needs.

I can adapt the lesson format to meet your particular needs and interests. My usual approach is to have a brief introduction, a 10-15 minute grammar section followed by a 20-30 minute structured conversation. This will give you the opportunity to improve your speaking, listening, reading and, if you wish, writing.

I am happy to offer homework, which I will mark, giving you plenty of opportunity to practise your new skills. By following this approach, you will be able to see clear evidence of progress as a learner.

     

Tutor not yet rated.

Complete Student Feedback

Get Started Today.
Bring Learning a Language to Life.

Native teachers

Great pricing

Ultimate flexibility